Congratulations to the 2015-2016 GEO Steering Committee! The results of the Steering Committee election are as follows:

Co-Presidents: Sarah Moberg and Hale Thompson
Treasurer: Karen Cralli
Secretary: Chris Perez
Outreach Chair: Lydia Hou
Bargaining Chair: Cloie McClellan
Communications Chair: Mik Czerwinski
Grievance Co-Chairs: Marissa Baker and Jen Phillis
Chief Steward: Andrea Craft
Organizing Chair: Alyssa Greenberg

Members of the incoming Steering Committee want to remind you all about the First GEO Bargaining Session happening Wednesday, May 6th from 1-4 p.m. in UH 401. Even if you can only come for a little bit, please show up–the stronger the numbers, the greater the pressure we put on the University as we demand a fair contract!

Join us for Steering Committee elections and End of the Semester social on Wednesday, April 29 from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m at Dugan’s on Halsted (128 S. Halsted St. Chicago IL 60661)! Help select the officers who chair specific committees and run caucuses. Hear candidates’ ideas concerning the direction of our organization as we prepare to bargain with the university. The officers for the GEO, as given by the Constitution, are listed below. You can find descriptions for each position on our website at If you are interested in running, please contact the Elections Committee at by Friday, April 24th to be included on the ballot; nominations will also be taken on the floor of the meeting. Food and drinks will be provided!

The officers for the GEO are as follows:
-Two Co-Presidents
-Grievance Chair
-Bargaining Chair
-Communications Chair
-Outreach Chair
-Organizing Chair
-Chief Steward (Officer-at-large)

2014 GEO Officer Election Results

Co-President: Jen Phillis (English) and Karen Cralli (Hispanic and Italian Studies)

Secretary: Ben Linder (Anthropology)

Treasurer: Dan Ingebretson (Math)

Organizing Chair: Andrea Herrera (Latin American and Latino Studies)

Communications Chair: Neri Sandoval (English)

Bargaining Chair: Becky Bivens (Art History)

Grievance Chair: Marissa Baker (Art History)

Chief Steward: Aaron Finley (English)

Outreach Chair: Jes Cook (Sociology)

Congratulations, 2014 GEO officers!


End-of-Year GEO Social TONIGHT, 6:00pm to 8:00pm, Dugan’s (128 S. Halsted)

Free drinks and food! All GEO members are welcome.


Please take GEO’s Campus Care/UIC Medicine Survey

Our Health Care Working Group is meeting with Campus Care administrators next month to discuss concerns about Campus Care and we need YOUR input! We are especially interested in hearing from people who use Campus Care for prescription and medical benefits related to chronic illnesses or trans*/gender variant health care. Please take this brief (10 min.) and anonymous survey: 

On Tuesday, April 22 from 4-5:30 pm in room 140 of Behavioral Sciences Building (BSB) the GEO is holding a general membership meeting to review the year’s activities and elect our new Steering Committee. The GMM is open to all members; the elections are open to card-signing members.

The Steering Committee is a member-run governing body of the GEO that helps to oversee other committees, plan and run events, and make decisions for the everyday functioning of the union. The list of Steering Committee officers is as follows:
Two Co-Presidents
Grievance Chair
Communications Chair
Outreach Chair
Organizing Chair
Chief Steward
Bargaining Chair (At Large Officer)

For a description of each position, check out our constitution:

To nominate yourself, please send an e-mail with a short biography and the position you’re running for to the Elections Committee at by Friday, April 18th in order to appear on the paper ballot. Nominations will also be accepted on the floor of the meeting as write-in candidates.

Additional voting will be held on Wednesday from 1-4 pm and Thursday from 9-2 in the GEO office (815 W. Van Buren Suite 203—enter on Halsted). Due to the impending United Faculty strike and possible SEIU strike, the additional voting locations have been moved off campus in solidarity with them. Vote!

Once the elections are over, please join your fellow members for the GEO End of Semester Social at Dugan’s on Halsted (128 S. Halsted) on Thursday, April 24th from 6-8 pm. All members are welcome.

If you have questions or concerns, please e-mail

The Elections Committee thanks all GEO members who voted in this week’s Steering Committee Election and congratulations to the newest members of the GEO Steering Committee! All members were voted in unanimously by the membership and the results are as follows:

Marissa Baker and Gina Gemmel

Lydia Hou

Daniel Ingebretson

Communications Co-Chairs
Jessi Holzman and Davis Brecheisen

Co-Chief Stewards
Edgar Bering and Jen Phillis

Outreach Chair
Jes Cook

Organizing Chair
Greg Sutliff

Grievance Chair
Alyssa Greenberg