Join us on Wednesday, March 28th, from 4:30-5:30 p.m. for a General Membership Meeting in Lecture Center B1!  It’s designed for members to learn about the results of the bargaining survey, meet the Bargaining Committee, and discuss and vote on the bargaining platform.  Plus, we’ll discuss with other graduate employees about how we can best work together for a strong contract.  As a member-run union, it’s absolutely vital for members to discuss the issues that matter to them and to get involved in any way possible!

Join your fellow GEO members as we rally for a new contract and file our demand to bargain with the university!  Meet on the west side of University Hall at 1:30 pm on Wednesday, March 14th as we announce that it’s GEO contract time!  With member involvement and support, we can show the university that we’re ready to negotiate and make it a collaborative effort to efficiently bargain a fair contract.  Share with the university administration some of the important work you do here and why you deserve to have a fair contract negotiated in a timely manner.  Invite your colleagues and spread the word!

The UIC-GEO steering committee has voted to endorse Ken Thomas in the upcoming student trustee election.  Ken has demonstrated a willingess to listen to the needs of graduate employees at UIC and has worked together with GEO members to help advance those interests.  For example:

  •  Ken agreed to set up a separate town hall meeting for grads last semester when the first one scheduled was at a time when many grads who wanted to come were unable to make it.
  • He has been active in working with GEO on trying to improve Campus Care.
  • He voted ‘no’ in the Board of Trustees vote on a tuition increase earlier this year.

Because of his consistent commitment to working with graduate employees on issues that are important to us, the SC recommends a vote for Ken Thomas for student trustee.

The online election for UIC student trustee is open March 6 and 7 at

in solidarity,
Matt Bourque
(on behalf of UIC-GEO steering committee)